Research Guides: Animation Materials in Library Special Collections: Collections in UCLA Library Special Collections

Online Archive of California (OAC)

Keyword search for primary source materials in UCLA's online finding aids:

Toward Ethical and Inclusive Descriptive Practices in UCLA Library Special Collections

LSC is committed to remediating harmful description by creating and implementing an anti-oppressive approach to discovery and access. We aim to:

Be clear about what we know, how we know it, and what we don't know
Embrace baseline description as a tool to improve the discoverability of all our materials
Demonstrate an understanding that description is a continuous and necessarily iterative endeavor

Read more about our past and current approaches to description in Toward Ethical and Inclusive Descriptive Practices in UCLA Library Special Collections.

Animation Collections

Here you will find collections of materials pertaining specifically to animators and animation.

Balser (Bob) Papers, Bulk 1970-2000
Bob Balser has been involved in animation production and direction since the 1950s. The collection consists of production-related material for animated projects produced by Bob Balser and his animation studio Pegbar, a small amount of material documenting Balser's involvement with the European Animation Circle, and small number of animation-related publications.
Walter Lantz Archive,1927-1972
Collection consists of materials related to the career of cartoon animator, Walter Lantz. Includes production files, subject files, cels, drawings, backgrounds, exposure sheets, and comic books and posters.
Walter Lantz Productions Collection of Music for Woody Woodpecker Cartoons and Other Productions, 1940-1960
The bulk of the collection consists of materials related to the music production process at the Lantz Studios from 1951-70. Includes the holographs of scores, parts, and detail sheets for Woody Woodpecker cartoons and various commercials.
International Animated Film Association, ASIFA-Hollywood
The collection consists of animation art from various local and international studio and independent animators including Hanna-Barbera, Walter Lantz, Walt Disney, J.R. Bray, John and Faith Hubley, Chuck Jones, and John Weldon. Includes original animation art newsletters, pamphlets, programs, catalogues, and journals. Also includes video tapes of ASIFA-Hollywood Annie Awards.

Unpublished finding aid available; inquire at Library Special Collections.
Norman Maurer Papers 1976-1983
The collection consists of scripts and xerox copies of sketches, for over 30 series of children animated cartoon television programs produced by Ruby Spears Productions and Hanna-Barbera Productions.
George Pal Papers, 1937-1986
Collection consists of material related to career of animator producer director George Pal. Includes correspondence, script materials, photographs, audio recordings, publicity material, clippings, and research and development materials.
Universal Pictures Corp. Walter Lantz Productions Scripts and Music Cue Sheets, bulk 1947-1965
Walter Lantz was an American cartoonist who is best remembered for the mischievous Woody the Woodpecker, a popular character who for many years appeared in cartoon shorts for theatres, and later on television. Universal Pictures bought the library of shorts and the rights to Walter Lantz productions in mid-1980s. The collection contains original and copies of continuity scripts and copies of revised music cue sheets related to Walter Lantz cartoons productions under the ownership of Universal Pictures
Walt Disney Productions Publicity Ephemera, 1938-198x
The collection consists of photographs, press books, press kits, and other printed publicity ephemera related to Walt Disney Production film projects (ca. 1938 into the 1980s).

Non-Animation Collections Containing Animation Materials

Here you will find collections not specifically about animators or animation, but that include animation-related materials.

To find further similar materials, use the Online Archive of California, keyword search, "Animation."

Jeff Alexander Television, Radio, and Motion Picture Music Collection, 1943-1970
The collection consists of holographs and/or ozalid copies of musical sketches for TV commercials, radio programs; television shows, and various television specials, and holographs or copies of motion picture scores. Also included are additional manuscript scores, framed tributes, awards, letters of recognition, photographs with personalities, drawings, and sound recordings.
Collection of Music Scores for the Emmy Awards, 1966-1996
This collection is comprised of non-published manuscripts of scores and orchestral parts used for Emmy Award presentations primarily between 1969-1970 and 1980-1988. The manuscripts included in this collection mainly consist of segments of theme songs drawn from popular television shows that were nominated for Emmy Awards during this time. This collection was donated by Robert G. Bornstein, former Supervisor of Music Preparation at CBS Special Entertainment, who was involved in preparing the music scores for the Emmy Awards Ceremonies. The materials included in this collection range from holograph orchestral scores prepared by music copyists, to translucent ozalid facsimiles used in the reproduction of parts for the orchestra. Orchestral scores often include the conductor's personal annotations.
Harry Crane Papers, ca. 1915-late 1990's (bulk 1940's-1980's)
Comedic writer Harry Crane started his career as a standup comic. During his long career Crane wrote for a number of renowned entertainers, but is best remembered for developing the popular television creation, The Honeymooners. The collection consists of script files, gag files, humor topical publications, and a small amount of awards, audio visual material, books, business files, clippings, correspondence, memorabilia, and photographs related to Cranes' prolific career writing for radio, television, and motion pictures as well as his long association with popular entertainers.
Phyllis Diller Papers, 1934-2011
This collection includes business papers, correspondence, sheet music, media, and memorabilia from the private collection of comedian and actress Phyllis Diller. Diller broke ground as one of the first and most prominent woman comedians through her stand-up act, films, television appearances, books, and records. Post-retirement in 2002, Diller wrote an autobiography titled Like a Lampshade in a Whorehouse: My Life in Comedy (2005), turned her hobby of drawing and painting into another career, and has continued to make appearances on television and in film.
E! Entertainment Library Collection of Picture Files and Tabloids
The collection consists of the picture files (consisting of photographs and slides) related to film, television, music related celebrities and current events as well as tabloids, collected by E! Entertainment as part of their reference library. The collection is in the midst of being processed. The finding aid will be updated periodically.
Morrie Gelman Papers, ca. 1970's-ca. 1996
Morrie Gelman worked as a reporter and editor for over 40 years for companies including the Brooklyn Eagle, New York Post, Newsday, Broadcasting (now Broadcasting & Cable) magazine, Madison Avenue, Advertising Age, Electronic Media (now TV Week), and Daily Variety. The collection consists of writings, research files, and promotional and publicity material related to Gelman's career.
Colin Higgins Papers, ca. 1960-1987
The collection consists of papers of Colin Higgins Productions, including personal and professional correspondence, screenplays in various drafts, research materials, production reports, army and college notes, and photographs. Included are animation materials pertaining to the film, "Nine to Five."
Jerry Fairbanks Productions Records, ca. 1940-1970
The collection consists of records related to Jerry Fairbanks Productions, Inc. Includes script materials, production and business records, photographs, color transparencies, slides, and storyboards. Includes materials for television documentaries, commercial and industrial productions, and unproduced projects.
Fairbanks produced the first cartoon series for television, "Crusader Rabbit" (1949-1957). Related materials are included in the collection.
Edward Jurist Papers, 1940-1979
Ed Jurist had a career as a prolific television producer and writer. The collection consists of script files for radio and television productions, casting files of resumes and photographs, and a small amount of personal papers and printed materials.
Laemmle Theatres Records, ca. 1960's-2000
The Laemmle Theatres theater chain was started in 1938 by brothers Max and Kurt Laemmle. The collection consists of hand written booking sheets, box office grosses, and payroll receipts; office files, and promotional material for Laemmle Theatre showings and event
Harold Leonard Motion Picture Research Files, ca. 1940-ca. 1960
Harold Leonard was a critic and film historian. The collection consists of Leonard's research files dealing mainly with critical and historical aspects of motion pictures.
Herbert Leonard Papers, 1957-1977
Throughout his career, producer Herbert Leonard was involved with hundreds of television and motion picture projects. The collection consists of television and motion picture scripts, production material, correspondence, budgets, contracts, and business records.
Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee (LAOOC) Records, 1978-1984
The collection consists of business records, publication and poster samples, architectural drawings, newspaper clippings, videotapes, slides and other photographic material, audio recordings, awards and certificates of the Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee (LAOOC) in the staging of the Games of the XXIII Olympiad in LA in 1984
Kenneth Macgowan Papers, 1915-1970
Kenneth Macgowan (1888-1963) was a drama critic for newspapers and magazines, a publicity director, producer and director with the Actor's Theater (1927-29), and the first department chair at the UCLA Theater Arts Department (1946-58). He was also interested in the anthropological field of archaeology. His publications include The theater of tomorrow (1921), Footlights across America (1929), Early man in the new world (1950), and Behind the screen: the history and technique of the motion picture (1965). The collection consists of materials related to Macgowan's careers in theater, motion pictures, and academia as well as material related to his interest in anthropology.
George Meyer Simpsons script files, 1990-2004
Writer and producer George Meyer is well known for his work on the long-running animated television comedy The Simpsons. The collection consist of Meyer's scripts files for the The Simpsons (seasons two through six) which may include story notes, outlines, and/or drafts of scripts.
Motion Picture and Entertainment-Related Periodicals, 1901-1991
The collection consists predominately of American motion picture periodicals spanning the early 1900's through the early 1990's.
Motion Picture Pressbooks, 1935-ca. 1980s
Collection consists of motion picture pressbooks dating from 1935 to ca. 1980s
Arthur Schneider Scripts and Production Material, 1965-1976
Arthur Schneider was a motion picture and television video editor whose credits include Bob Hope Comedy Specials, Laugh-In, Sonny & Cher and The New Mickey Mouse Club. The collection consists of script and production material related to his work on television programs, specials and television movies. The bulk of the collection is primarily materials from Walt Disney's New Mickey Mouse Club (1976).
Nat Segaloff Papers 1958-2008
The collection consists of materials pertaining to Nat Segaloff's career as a freelance writer, producer, teacher and journalist. A highlight of this collection is the large amount of material pertaining to the Hollywood blacklist.
Bob Thomas Papers, 1914-2004
The collection consists of materials related to Thomas's professional career as a writer and includes manuscripts, research and photographs for books by Thomas as well as Associated Press columns, research files, and a small amount of printed ephemera.
Research Materials for the HBO Television Series, From the Earth to the Moon, 1940-1997
From the earth to the moon was a Clavius Base/Imagine Entertainment production that followed the experiences of the Apollo astronauts in their mission to place a man on the moon. The collection covers a variety of subjects related to events and issues of the United States manned space flight program through Project Apollo and the history of the decades it covered, primarily the 1960s and the early 1970s. The collection contains books, magazines, unidentified excerpts from books and magazines, photographs, videorecordings, glass slides and audiotapes.
USA for Africa Records, 1986-1989
Includes: DIC Enterprises, Incorporated (“We Are The World” animation).
Jimmy Van Heusen Papers, 1853-1994, bulk 1939-1972
Collection consists of American song composer Jimmy Van Heusen's papers and materials, both business and personal. Items include an extensive collection of unpublished music manuscripts and song lyrics, published sheet music, correspondence, personal papers, and business documents. Includes animated films, Hound for Hire and Jack and the Beanstalk.

Oral History Interviews

UCLA’s Center for Oral History Research collects oral history interviews related primarily to the history of Southern California and the Los Angeles metropolitan region.

The following are select interviews related to animation.

Tex Avery Interview
Animator and film director, Tex Avery recalls the creation of various cartoon characters, including Bugs Bunny, Porky Pig, and Daffy Duck; making television commercials; and creating training films for the military.

Transcript found in: Library Special Collection stacks.
Jules Engel Interview
Engel discusses his early years in Hungary and his career in art, particularly as an animator for Disney and a professor at Cal Arts. Volume includes index.

Oral history transcript.
Dave Fleischer Interview
Animated cartoon director, Dave Fleischer recalls his early years in New York, collaborating professionally with his brother Max, and creating Betty Boop, Popeye, and other cartoon series.

Transcript found in Library Special Collection Stacks.
Richard Martin Heumer Interview
Animator, Heumer recalls his early years, his career as animator and story director, and his collaboration with Joe Grant on Fantasia, the Reluctant dragon, and other Disney productions.
Transcript online.
Women in Animation
The collection consists of oral history transcripts from interviews conducted by the organization, Women in Animation. Contains interviews with women pioneers from the animation industry, including Frances Arriola, Susan Ashley, Barbara Baldwin, Betty Brooks, Martha Buckley, Xenia De Mattia, Becky Fallberg, Mary Jane Frost, Grace Godino, Wilma Guenot, Julie Harvey, Anneline Liu, Joan Orbison, Sylvia Roemer, Martha Sigall, Gini Swift and Auril Thompson. The interviews are varied in terms of positions held and talents expressed while in the animation industry.

Finding aid available in Library Special Collections
Pat Tobin Interview
Publicist and press officer. Founder and president of public relations firm, Tobin & Associates, Inc. - This interview is part of a project designed to document African Americans in television, radio, theater, and film and aims to better understand how they overcame bias and discrimination and were trailblazers who opened doors for other African Americans in the industry.