Skip to main content

Animation Materials in Library Special Collections

Welcome to the UCLA Library Special Collection Animation Guide. This guide will point researchers to relevant collections and resources. If you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, please contact Peggy Alexander.

Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive

Voice actress June Foray at audition in Los Angeles, Calif., 1965Voice actress June Foray at Audition in Los Angeles, CA, 1965.

Photonegatives and photographic prints documenting events and people in Southern California, the U.S., and the world. Materials originate from the Los Angeles Times newspaper and includes glass negatives (ca. 1918-1932), nitrate negatives (ca. 1925-45), and safety negatives (ca. 1935-1990). The collection also includes prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Times Orange County and San Diego bureaus.

Art Department Digital Image Collection

Cartoonist Sidney Smith with drawing of cartoon character Andy Gump, Los Angeles, 1934 Cartoonist Sidney Smith with drawing of cartoon character Andy Gump, Los Angeles, 1934

Houses images and video stills from the UCLA Art Department's New Genres, Sculpture, Photography, and Painting and Drawing databases, featuring documentary photographs of prominent modern and postmodern artists' studio processes and work. Includes documentation of performance art, installation art, gallery installations, public art and graffiti, among other practices.

Images Found in LSC Collections