Librarian/Curator for Slavic, Eastern European and Eurasian Studies
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
About This Guide
This guide is designed to serve as a starting point for students in Slavic 220A: Literary Proseminar looking for resource materials from the UCLA collections, accessible through the UCLA Library, or freely available elsewhere. Information on both print and electronic resources, as well as materials in other formats (microforms, films, images, etc.) is included.
Guide to tabs:
- Reference > Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Concordances
- Books and Articles > Specialized Databases, Literary Histories, and Bibliographies
- Archives and Libraries: Archival Directories and Finding Aids and Specialized Reference Services
For additional information, see the links to "Related Guides" in the box on the left or contact me to set up an in-person research consultation.
If you have any suggestions or recommendations for this guide, please email me or leave a comment on any of the boxes in this guide.
Quick Links
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Young Research Library (YRL) Special CollectionsSpecial Collections holds many archival materials, including papers on Evelyn Hooker, Gertrude Stein, Paul Monette, Michael Nava, Morris Kight, Christopher Isherwood, John Rechy, Terri de la Pena, and Robert Stoller.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
- Graduate-Level Research: Services, Resources, and TipsTips on selecting faculty committee members, choosing a thesis topic, discovering and accessing research materials, searching for financial support, filing the thesis, and hunting for a job.
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
Off-Campus Access
Before you get started using any of the licensed resources from this guide (marked with a red lock icon) on your laptop or home computer, be sure you have set up the BOL Proxy Server or VPN client. This will enable you do conduct research and access full-text articles, databases, and other resources from anywhere.
If you have technical issues setting up off site access, contact the Bruin Online Help Desk at 267-HELP (4357), Option 1, e-mail at consult@ucla.edu, or stop by the office at Kerckhoff Hall, Suite 124.
Transliteration and Typing
- Table of Russian Transliteration SystemsIncludes ALA-Library of Congress and ISO R9 (closest to J. Thomas Shaw's "International Scholarly" system, which uses "x" instead of "kh" or "h").
- Virtual Cyrillic Phonetic Keyboard for Russian & UkrainianType the text you need in Cyrillic, then copy and paste into a search box on another page. Extremely useful when working with Russian-language search engines and databases on public computers.
- Library of Congress Transliteration Tables for Other LanguagesIncludes Church Slavic, Serbian/Macedonian, Ukrainian, Belorussian, Bulgarian, Azeri, Armenian, Georgian, non-Slavic languages in Cyrillic script, Hebrew/Yiddish.
Zotero Citation Manager
Zotero is a free, open-source bibliography platform where you can store data and then export it in any bibliographical format you need. If you download the web browser plugin, you can add sources directly from the UCLA online catalog (and many others). Tutorials and documentation are available through the Zotero website, and you can also contact me for an in-person consultation on using it for your research.
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself. Zotero automatically senses content, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites. Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.
It's supported by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.