Online Encyclopedias, Biographies, and Other Reference Tools
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 19,000 men and women who have influenced American history. - Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage back to 1946.
- Archaeology in America: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 300 sites in eight regions of North America, including Canada. - Encyclopedia of American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
Thematic and chronological essays on a variety of subjects in Native American history. - Encyclopedia of Native American Artists
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth biographies of 70 Native artists.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GVRL provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources. Scroll down and select the appropriate subject area. A sampling of their titles includes:- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd ed.
- Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
- Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
- Encyclopedia of Human Geography
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
See articles on Anthropology and/or Archaeology.
- Marquis Who's Who on the Web This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Marquis Who Who on the Web provides biographies of over 1.4 million people of note, in the United States and around the world. It is the online counterpart of Marquis renowned biographical dictionaries. All biographies since 1985 are included. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An illustrated collection of 60,000 biographies of men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's history, up to the present. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 15 million authoritative citations to 11,000 specialized print and electronic encyclopedias. Click on retrieved links to see where the book is in the UCLA Library (it may in print or online). - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books and reference works in the social sciences. Includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Includes books published by both Sage and CQ Press. UCLA subscribes to only a small fraction of the books available, and not all content from Sage. - World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen.
Print Resources
The UCLA Library has many useful reference sources available in print, including the titles below. Search for their location in the Library Catalog.
- Native American food plants : an ethnobotanical dictionary
- The A to Z of Native American movements
- Encyclopedia of American Indian history
- Treaties with American Indians : an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty
- Encyclopedia of American Indian literature
- A to Z of American Indian women
- American Indian religious traditions : an encyclopedia
- Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian
- Tiller’s guide to Indian country : economic profiles of American Indian reservations
- Native Americans in sports
- Native American placenames of the United States
Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. - WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 5 million dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.