Subject Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Acknowledgment
This guide, including the lists of films, was created with the help of Kien Ngo, student assistant to the Librarian for Southeast Asian Studies.
Vietnamese Films at UCLA
UCLA has a sizeable collection of films related to Vietnam, the Vietnam War, and Vietnamese-Americans.These films are mostly in Vietnamese or English and produced either in Vietnam or the United States. Most of the films are held by the UCLA Library, while some are available through Instructional Media Collections & Services (IMCS).
This guide provides a listing of the films available at UCLA. We have tried to make it as exhaustive as possible. The films are divided into various categories, such as: documentaries, features, music & comedy, and description & travel. Within the documentary and feature categories, there are sub-categories for films related to the Vietnam War and on Vietnamese-Americans. Because films can offer different perspectives, depending on who produced them (this would be particularly true for Vietnam War films), we have also divided films according to where they were produced or "published."
Films held by the UCLA Library can be checked out, while those held by IMCS can only be viewed in the Instructional Media Lab.
Note: If you have any suggestions or recommendations for this guide, please email the subject librarian or leave comments.
UCLA Library Quick Links
- UCLA LibraryUCLA Library home page. Access to catalogs, databases, and information about collections, services, etc.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Connect from Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server)Information about connecting to the campus network when off-campus. Once set up, faculty, students, and staff can access both open-access and licensed resources.
UCLA Quick Links
- Vietnamese Student Union (VSU)"The Vietnamese Student Union (VSU), established in 1977, is the official voice of all Vietnamese students at UCLA through its advocacy for the cultural, educational, political, and social welfare of the Vietnamese community at large." Is the umbrella organization for two projects, the Higher Opportunity Program for Education (HOPE) and Southeast Asian Campus Learning Education and Retention project (SEA CLEAR).
- Vietnamese Language and Culture (VNLC)Student organization that provides free weekly Vietnamese language lessons and cultural studies classes to UCLA students, as well as to K-12 students in the San Fernando Valley. Puts on the Tet Festival at UCLA to celebrate the Vietnamese New Year and collaborates with community organizations on other cultural and artistic projects.
- Vietnamese Community Health (VCH)Student organization at UCLA, "working to aid the Vietnamese community of LA and Orange County" by informing them about health issues, diseases, and nutrition.
- UCLA Department of Asian American StudiesThe Asian American Studies Department offers courses that contextualize the social, cultural, political, and economic experiences of Asians and Pacific Islanders who settled in the United States. Foci of inquiry include the legacies of colonialism and war, immigration, social marginalization, and institutionalized discrimination, as well as reinterpreted understandings of race, gender, and socioeconomic class. The department seeks to publicize research results using new media to increase the visibility of these remarkable hidden histories.
- UCLA Asian American Studies CenterFounded in 1969, the Asian American Studies Center has played a critical role in developing Southern California’s infrastructure of social service agencies, civil rights organizations, museums, historical societies, media and cultural groups, and business associations that serve and represent the Asian American and Pacific Islander population. The Center founded the UCLA Asian American Studies Department (the largest such department in the nation), established an outstanding research library, and published the country's leading research journal as well as hundreds of scholarly monographs.
- UCLA Asian American Studies Center Library/Reading RoomInformation and resources specifically on Asian- and Pacific Islander-Americans. Materials do not circulate. Hours are limited, so check the website for location/service information.