Skip to main content

Image Resources

ARTstor's Shared Shelf

Artstor’s Shared Shelf is a media management solution that enables institutions to upload, catalog, and share their digital collections. Shared Shelf collections are discoverable alongside the ARTstor Digital Library’s content at your institution, and may be shared with other institutions or published to the Open Web via Shared Shelf Commonsthe Digital Public Library of America (DPLA), or Omeka (a free, flexible, open source web-publishing platform for the display of library, museum, archives, and scholarly collections and exhibitions).

Shared Shelf and the University of California

The University of California Digital Library provides access to several licensed or purchased resources through ARTstor's Shared Shelf, including:

In addition, several UC campuses share selected image collections with other UC campuses or with Shared Shelf Commons through ARTstor's Shared Shelf.

The UCLA Visual Resources Collection (in Shared Shelf) contains images of art and architecture from the Department of Art History Visual Resources Collection.

Shared Shelf Features

  • Web-based media management software.
  • Cataloging tools with customizable metadata schemas.
  • Integrated Getty vocabularies: Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)™, Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN)™, Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)™, and the Cultural Object Name Authority (CONA)™ (in development).
  • Community collaboration through shared name and work records and the Built Works Registry (in development).
  • Ability to share collections throughout your institution, with a group of institutions, or via open-access websites.
  • Ability to publish collections into a robust discovery Workspace that provides a single point of access to your local content and the Artstor Digital Library.
  • Workspace tools to support active use of visual content such as search, browse, zoom, image groups, Mobile flashcards, and batch download to PowerPoint.
  • Ability to publish into the open-access site Shared Shelf Commons®.
  • Ability to nominate collections for inclusion in the Artstor Digital Library.
  • Remote storage and back up of media files.
  • Availability of a free Omeka Plugin that allows users to publish image files and data records from a Shared Shelf project to Omeka collections.
  • Free training and user support.

Shared Shelf Commons

Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images and other media collections. More than 200,000 image, video, document, and audio files contributed by Shared Shelf subscribers can now be searched in this ever-growing resource, either as a separate collection, or within the ARTstor Digital Library. UC Berkeley and UC San Diego have made several collections available worldwide through Shared Shelf Commons.