Connect from Off-Campus
Most of the links on this page go to subscription sources that are accessible from any computer on campus. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can also access these sites from off-campus using either the Proxy Server (a simple setting in your browser) or the VPN Client (a program you install on your computer).
Major Online Databases
Here are links to major image databases to use in your research. They are licensed resources available to UCLA users only. UCLA staff, faculty, and students will need to make sure their computers are configured for off-campus access when researching from home.
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials. Also retrieves Artstor Digital Library images related to your search and provides an Image Search option. Advanced options allow you to limit your search to captions that describe illustrations. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- UC Shared Collections
- This link opens in a new window
Subject-Specific Databases
- African American Communities
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a searchable 'Image Gallery' (also viewable by theme) and a '360 Object Gallery' (equipped with a 360 degree rotation viewer) - Empire Online
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials for the study of 'Empire,' its theories, practices and consequences. Includes an image gallery, showcasing illustrations, photographs, maps, postcards and more.
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers study of domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 via highly illustrated trade catalogues. Topics include various aspects of design, fashion, gender studies, food and drink, and more.
Index Databases
These databases index illustrations and art reproductions found in periodicals.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- The Burlington Magazine Online Index
- This link opens in a new window
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window