Librarian for Digital Research and Scholarship
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Genus Homo Image and Video Resources
- Human Evolution: The Fossil Evidence in 3D"...UCSB online 3D gallery of modern primate relatives and fossil ancestors of humans. This gallery contains five modern primate crania, and five fossil crania. The crania can be rotated 360 degrees."
Anthropology Image and Video Resources
Relevant General Image Resources
Use these sites to locate images of, and metadata for, art, artifacts and monuments. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
- Flickr CommonsA free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
- Google ImagesSearches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
- NYPL Digital GalleryThousands of digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
- Wikimedia CommonsPublic domain and freely-licensed images, sound, and video. Note the ability to browse by classification (topics, locations, media type, and more!) in addition to keyword searching.
- WorldImagesContains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
UCLA Film and Video Collections
The repositories below house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy and many are administered by separate campus entities, so it is important to check individual websites even though many holdings appear in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Instructional Media Collections and Services (Center for the Advancement of Teaching)Video collection funded for instructional on-campus use. Though holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, users can double-check the separate IMCS catalog available from the website.
- Film and Television ArchiveThe Film and Television Archive has research copies of many titles, with particular strength in Hollywood film. The catalog is also distinct, and can be accessed via the Archive's homepage. Or, in the UCLA Library Catalog, click on "Select Collections."
- UCLA Film & Television Archive News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionConsists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowIndividual libraries with selected video and DVD holdings: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, and SRLF. You can limit to “Visual Materials” in the catalog to search all of these. Access and loan options vary, however.
- UCLA Ethnomusicology ArchiveThe Archive’s collection of more than 150,000 audio, video, print, and photographic items documents musical expressions throughout the world and includes unique field recordings as well as rare commercial recordings.
- UCLA Ralph J. Bunche Library and Media Center (Center for African American Studies)Video holdings are also listed in UCLA Library Catalog. More information about access and equipment are on the Center's website.
- Chicano Studies Research Center Library and Special CollectionsList of videos at the Library. Video holdings are also listed in UCLA Library Catalog.