Skip to main content

History 97C: Unsolved Mysteries of Early Modern Europe (Fall 2017)

Searching for Articles in Journals

Start with a keyword search using words relevant to your topic. When you see some articles that look interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are subject terms or descriptors, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.

Finding Full Text

 is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.

Searching for Journal Titles

If the item you find does not have full text online, copy the title of the journal or book and search for it in the UCLA Library Catalog. Paste the title into the Search for box and select Journal Title (Start of) or Title (Start of) from the drop-down menu.  Select your title from the list and see if UCLA owns the item you seek.  If there is an ONLINE ACCESS link, you can find the full text online. 

An alternative search for full text journal articles is to use the Melvyl Catalog and search for the journal title.  Select the Journal Title (exact) index and enter your journal title in the search box. If there is an Available Online link and UCLA is not listed, try it anyway—we may have access.

Los Angeles Public Library

Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has a number of databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card.

The most useful database to try searching is Proquest Central (includes Proquest Newsstand and Research Library) -- UCLA subscribes to neither title.