Why Dictionaries?
You want to sure you are using the correct word to express your ideas. If you are not sure, you should check the definition in a dictionary.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
-
Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.
Why Encyclopedias?
Encyclopedias are a good place to start if you need an overview of a topic you are unfamiliar with. They will often include a bibliography of sources that you can consult for more information.
You can look in a subject encyclopedia if you would like to find background or overview information about your topic. Several sources that might be useful for your assignment are listed below.
-
Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGVRL provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. Click on Multicultural Studies and select Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Search for your culture group.
-
Immigrants in American HistoryEssays on immigrant groups arranged by broad time period. This subscription allows 3 concurrent users. Try later if it is unavailable.
-
Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowClick on Social Science and select Encyclopedia of Sociology. Search for LOVE to find various articles that discuss the topic from a sociological perspective.
-
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesSearch in the Subject Index for the name of your culture group (Armenians, Jews, etc.) or country (Guatemala, Philippines, etc.) for articles that might be useful. Add the Keyword LOVE to focus your search.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowOxford University Press searchable versions of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.