Skip to Main Content

Korean Studies

Online Catalog for Finding Books at UCLA and Other Libraries

  • Search UCLA's local library collection as well as the collections from all 10 UC libraries, two regional library facilities and the California Digital Library

  • Locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content

  • Get up-to-the-minute status information on what's checked out, do things like renew your books, recall books checked out to other people or request items stored in the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF)

Tips

Select the scope most appropriate for what you are looking for:

  • Articles, books, and more searches all 10 UC campus libraries, the electronic resources subscribed to, as well as electronic resources that may not be in the UC libraries, but that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Course Reserves searches material put on reserve by your professor. Search by course number, title or instructor.
  • UCLA Library Catalog searches just material in the UCLA Libraries, with the exception of journal articles.
  • UC Libraries Catalog searches all 10 UC campus libraries, with the exception of journal articles.
  • UCLA Film & Television Archive searches only the holdings of the Film & Television Archive.
  • WorldCat Global Catalog searches material in libraries throughout the United States and some foreign countries.

. You can request materials from anywhere in the world using the Interlibrary Loan service — you don't even have to specify where it's coming from — but it may take weeks or months to get here, and extremely rare materials may not be available for loan.

Library Congress Subject Headings on Selected Korean Materials

LC Subject Heading Period Subdivision LC Class Number Korean / Romanization
Architecture -- Korea
(한국건축)		 -- To 935 NA 1563.2 고려 이전 / Pre-Koryo period
-- 935 - 1392 NA 1563.3 고려 / Koryo period
-- 1392 - 1910 NA 1563.4 조선 / Choson Dynasty
Art, Korean
(한국미술)		 -- To 935 N 7363.2 고려 이전 / Pre-Koryo period
-- To 1900 N 7363 대한이전 / Pre-Taehan period
-- 1392 - 1910 N 7363.4 조선 / Choson Dynasty
-- 20th century N 7363  
Korea -- Civilization
(한국문화)		 -- To 935 DS 911.27 고려 이전 / Pre-Koryo period
-- 935 - 1392 DS 912.27 고려 / Koryo period
-- 1392 - 1910 DS 913.27 조선 / Choson Dynasty
20th century DS 916.27  
Korea -- Defense
(한국국방 )		   UA 853 .K6  
Korea -- Economic conditions
(한국경제)		 -- To 935 HC 467 고려이전-일제해방 / Pre-Koryo period - Liberation
Korea -- Foreign Relations
(한국외교)		 -- To 935 DS 911.37 고려 이전 / Pre-Koryo period
-- 935 - 1392 DS 912.37 고려 / Koryo period
-- 1392 - 1910 DS 913.37 조선 / Choson Dynasty
Korea -- History
(한국역사)		 -- To 935 DS 911- 911.78 고려 이전 / Pre-Koryo period
935 - 1392 DS 912 - 912.382 고려 / Koryo period
1231 - 1270 DS 912.4 - 912.43 몽고침입 / Mongolian Invasions
1392 - 1910 DS 913 - 915.53 조선 / Choson Dynasty
1592 - 1598 DS 913.4 일본침입 / Japanese Invasions
1627 - 1637 DS 913.6 만주침입 / Manchu Invasions
1637 - 1910 DS 915 - 915.53 조선말기 / End of Choson period
1910 - 1945 DS 916.525 - 916.58 일제통치 / Japanese Occupation
1919 DS 916.597 독립운동 / Independence movement
1945 DS 917.43 남북분단 / Partition
1948 DS 917.55 제주 4.3사건 / Chejudo Rebellion
1960-1961 DS 922.43-44 사월, 오월혁명 / April, May Revolution
Korea -- Politics and Government
(한국정치와 정부)		 1948 - 1960 DS 917.8  
1960 - 1988 DS 922.35  
1988 - DS 922.4635  
Korean essays
(한국수필)		 -- To 1900 PL 966.3 (history) PL 980.3 (collections) 대한이전 / Pre-Taehan period
Korean fiction
(한국소설)		 -- To 1900 PL 981 - 981.3 (history) PL 967 - 967.3 (collections) 대한이전 / Pre-Taehan period
1894 -1919 PL 967.5 (history) PL 981.5 (collections) 개화기 / Enlightenment period
20th century PL 967.4 - 967.7 (history) PL 981.4 - 981.7 (collections)  
Korean language (한국어) -- To 935 PL 909.2 고려 이전 / Pre-Koryo period
935 - 1500 PL 909.3 중세한국어 / Middle Korean
Korean literature (한국문학) -- To 1900 PL 958 (history) PL 972 (collections) 대한이전 / Pre-Taehan period
935 - 1392 PL 958.12 (history) PL 972.12 (collections) 고려 / Koryo period
935 - 1500 PL 958.12; PL 958.2 (history) PL 972.12; PL 972.2 (collections) 중세 / Middle Korean
1598 -1800 PL 958.25 - 26 (history) PL 972.25 - 26 (collections) 조선후기 / Post-Choson period
19th century PL 958.3 (history) PL 972.3 (collections)  
1894 - 1919 PL 958.5 (history) PL 972.5 (collections) 개화기 / Enlightenment period
20th century PL 958.4 - 958.7 (history) PL 972.4 - 972.7 (collections)  
Korean poetry
(한국시)		 Early to 1900 PL 961 (history) PL 976 (collections) 대한이전 / Pre-Taehan period
1894 - 1919 PL 961.5 (history) PL 976.5 (collections) 개화기 / Enlightenment period
20th century PL 961.4 - 961.7 (history) PL 976.5 (collections)  
Law
(법)		 20th century K
Library science
(도서관학)		 Books (general) Z 4 - 115.5  
Book Industries and Trade Z 116 - 659  
Asia bibliography (general) Z 3001  
Korean bibliography Z 3316 - 3320  
Subject bibliography Z 5051 - 7999  
Personal bibliography Z 8001 - 8999  
Political science
(정치학)		 International Law and International Relation JX, JZ  
Religion
(종교)		 Religion, (Science of) BL 48-50
Ethnology GN 470-474  
Social science
(사회과학)		 Transportation and Communications HD 1405 - 2321  
Sociology & Social Problems HF 1 - 5001  
Family, Marriage & Women HN 730.5  
Societies: secret, benevolent HQ  
Social Pathology, Criminology, Social and Public Welfare HT- HV 6001  
Technology
(기술)		 Cookery, Korean -- History TX 724.5.K65  

from U of Toronto library

Korean Library Catalogs

Here is a list of several major library catalogs from South Korea:

Subjects: Asia