Skip to main content

Public Health

E-books and E-resources

General Reference

Research assistance is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.

Dictionaries

The print materials in the following list can be found in the Biomedical Library's Reference Stacks (located behind the elevators on the 1st floor).

  • Dictionary of public health promotion and education : terms and concepts. Modeste, Naomi N., Tamayose, Teri S., eds. 2nd ed. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2004. Call number: WA 13 M691d 2004
     
  • The Dictionary of substances and their effects. Gangolli S., ed. 3rd electronic ed. Royal Society of Chemistry, 2005.
     
  • Dictionary of Toxicology. Hodgson, Ernest, et al., eds. 2d ed. London: Macmillan Reference, 1998. Call number: QV 13 D5545 1998
  • Health Services Cyclopedic Dictionary. Timmreck, Thomas C., ed. Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c1997. Call Number: W 13 T584d 1997

Encyclopedias

All of the following materials can be found in the Biomedical Library's Reference Stacks (located behind the elevators on the 1st floor), unless otherwise noted.

  • Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health. Loue, Sana and Martha Sajatovic, eds. New York: Springer, 2008. Call number: WT 13 E5613 2008

  • Encyclopedia of Biostatistics. 2nd ed. Armitage, Peter and Theodore Colton, eds. Chichester, West Sussex, England: John Wiley, 2005. 8 volumes. Call number: WA 13 E55 2005

  • Encyclopedia of Epidemiologic Methods. Gail, Mitchell H. and Jacques Benichou, eds. New York: Wiley, 2000. Call number: WA 13 E555 2000

  • Encyclopedia of Global Health. Zhang, Yawei, general editor. Los Angeles: Sage Publications, 2008. 4 volumes. Call number: WA 13 E557 2008 via SAGE Reference Online

  • Encyclopedia of Health Care Management. Stahl, Michael J. eds. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2004. Call number: W 13 E5526 2004

  • Encyclopedia of Health Services Research. Ross M. Mullner, ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2009. 2 volumes. via SAGE Reference Online

  • Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. 2nd ed. editor-in-chief, Benjamin Caballero; editors, Lindsay Allen, Andrew Prentice. Amsterdam ; Boston: Elsevier/Academic Press, 2005. Call number: QU 13 E57 2005

  • Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases: Modern Methodologies. Tibayrenc, Michel, ed. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley-Liss, 2007. General Stacks Call number: WC 13 E56 2007

  • Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making. Kattan, Michael W. and Mark E. Cowen, eds. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2009 via SAGE Reference Online
  • Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues. Byrne, Joseph P., ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008. College Library Reference RA 652 E535 2008 and via ABC-CLIO.
     
  • Encyclopedia of Public Health. Breslow, Lester, ed. Macmillan Reference USA/Gale Group Thomson Learning, 2002. Call number: WA 13 E566 2002

Handbooks

All of the following materials can be found in the Biomedical Library Stacks, except where a different location is noted.  The Reference Stacks are located behind the elevators on the 1st floor.