Materials Science and Engineering

Knovel's Aluminum Alloy Database is a comprehensive summary of mechanical, physical, and chemical properties of both wrought and a wide variety of types of cast aluminum alloys. The values are "typical," as used in aluminum industry publications, to represent the average or mean and not any statistically calculated values intended for design.

Contains the following information about isotopes: half life, spin, parity, decay mode(s) or abundance.

Dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures) produced by the National Library of Medicine.

A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

A ready-reference book of chemical and physical data.

Data on inorganic compounds, inorganic compounds, and pure substances on: physical, thermodynamic, and mechanical.

Interactives tables including: heat capacity, thermal, conductivity, and reaction thermodynamics.

Select "Property Search" from the Knovel webpage, then search by material or substance name and drag and drop the properties you are interested in.

Database of material properties.

Provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials.

Electronic resources on the following: thermochemical data for organic & small inorganic compounds and reaction thermochemistry for reactions.

Various sets of data on the elements including: elemental data index, atomic properties, and physical constants.

The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.

The 9th edition (2019) of Perry's is the gold standard for chemical engineering information—from the fundamentals to the state of the art.

Searchable index by properties including: absolute absorption spectroscopy, absolute lethal concentration, absorbance, and absorption.

From CHEMnetBASE, database of polymers' properties including: synonyms, CAS classification, volumetric & calorimetric properties, surface properties & solubility.

Manufacturers are always the most reliable sources for SDSs, and the UC system has provided its researchers with UC SDS Resources, a systemwide website created to help locate SDSs and other chemical safety information. In addition, UC SDS Resources allows users to utilize a customized Google search designed to quickly locate an SDS. This resource functions like any regular search engine.

Computational knowledge engine contains chemical data.

Provides access to a wide spectrum of substances, materials and their properties (physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental).

Contains basic environmental and green properties of hydrocarbons and chemicals that are advantageous in design, operations, research, development, manufacturing and safety for the petroleum, chemical and environmental engineer.

This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals.

Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.

The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) has compiled a list of relevant database, both free and fee-based dealing with crystallography. It also provides links to various data gathering agencies and data formats.

Information on the following: electron configuration, element data, element groups, and plot data.

Essays on the elements in the periodic table.

Contains information on the history, isotopes, properties, and handling of elements.

Contains information on the following: edge energies (eV), edge jumps, and florescent yield.

An interactive periodic table of elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Contains the following for elements of the periodic table: History, contents, uses, and geology.