Google Scholar
If you don't see the UC-eLinks link in your results, click on Settings in the upper right, then Library Links and select University of California, Los Angeles as your institution.
Search Tips
- Consider the scope of a database: topics covered, formats included, time period, etc. Databases vary widely in these features!
- Make use of basic search fields when you know the title or author you're looking for, or for simple keyword searches.
- Make use of advanced search options for more complex searches with many search terms.
- Take advantage of controlled vocabularies or thesauri in order to optimize your search results.
- Note options to narrow or refine your search by publication date, subject, etc.
- Many databases have tools for finding items similar to a given article. Look for "Find related articles"-type links to further your search.
- Look for tools to e-mail citations or links to articles to yourself.
- Some databases take you directly to the papers you want by providing a PDF or HTML link. Otherwise, look for the gold UC-eLinks button to get a copy of the article.
For more tips on database searching, see the Biomedical Library's Dissecting a database.
Databases in Civil and Environmental Engineering
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database containing the bibliographic records of publications and proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Full-text available only for some journals. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index. - Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the earth, atmospheric, and oceanic sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), the Oceanic Abstracts, and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database with abstracts of books, technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. related to earthquake engineering and earthquake hazards reduction published since 1971. Includes works on structural engineering, geotechnical engineering, and engineering seismology. Coverage is worldwide and includes more than 120 technical journals. Approximately 6,000 abstracts are added each year. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Does not include Draft Standards. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968. - Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of technical reference works and online tools for engineers. - NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature.The MarvinSketch structure editor works with the campus VPN, but not the proxy server. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n. - TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Transportation database that combines the records from US TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) and the OECD Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD). TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Kanopy: Engineering for SustainabilityOn-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
- Kanopy: Everyday EngineeringOn-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.