Skip to main content

Tibetan Studies

Tibetan Canon

Chibetto bunken mokuroku sakuin チベット文献目録索引 [English title: Index to the Catalog of Tibetan works kept in the Ōtani University Library]. Kyoto: Ōtani University Shin Buddhist Comprehensive Research Institute, 1985. [Ref. Z 7861 C6O83 1985]

Chibetto dai zōkyō sō mokuroku (sakuin) チベット大藏經総目録(索引) [Comprehensive Catalog (and Index) of the Tibetan Canon]. 2 vols. Sendai: Tōhoku Daigaku Hōbun Gakubu, 1934. [Z 7862.4 T64 1934; and Z 7862.4 T64 1934 Index]

Chibetto senjutsu butten mokuroku チベット撰述仏典目録 [English title: A catalogue of the Tōhoku University collection of Tibetan works on Buddhism]. Ed. Kanakura Yenshō 金倉圓照 et al. Sendai: Tōhoku Daigaku Bungakubu, 1953. [Z 7861 T55 C38 1953]

Xizang dazangjing zong mulu 續藏大藏經総目録. Ed. Yu-ching Po-shou et al. Taipei: Mile Chubanshe, 1982. [NOT at UCLA] Reprinted of 1934 Tōhoku catalog.

(Taishō Daigaku shozō) Chibetto Daizokyō Narutan-ban Ronshobu mokuroku (大正大學所藏)チベット大藏經ナルタン版論疏部目録 [English title: A comparative list of the Tibetan Tripitaka of Narthang edition (Bstan-hgyur division) with the Sde-dge edition]. Edited by Mibu Taishun. Tokyo, 1967. [BQ 1279 M5 1967]

Source: Dr. Robert Buswell. Revised and Expanded by William Bodiford

Sanskrit-Tibetan-Chinese Terminology for Tibetan Studies

Bukkyō Indo shisō jiten 仏教インド思想辞典 [Dictionary of Indian and Buddhist Thought]. Ed. Hayashima Kyōshō 早島鏡正, Takasaki Jikidō 高崎直道 Tokyo: Shunjūsha, 1987. [Ref. BQ 130 B85 1987]

De Koros, Alexander Csoma. Sanskrit-Tibetan-English Vocabulary: Being an Edition and Translation of the Mahāvyutpatti. Buddhica, no. 8. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1982. [PL 3636 K67 1980] Important for numerical lists and Sanskrit-Chinese equivalencies. NOTE: The Ogiwara version of the Mahāvyutpatti is more useful (see additional comments under that entry).

Ekō 慧晃 (1656–1737). Kikitsu yakudoshū 枳橘易土集 [Collection of (Flowering) Trees (that Bloom Differently when) Transplanted to Different Lands]. 26 fasc. Reprinted as Bongo jiten 梵語辞典 [Sanskrit-Japanese Dictionary]. Tokyo: Tetsugakkan, 1898. [Ref. BQ 133 E36]

Fayun 法雲 (1088–1158). Fanyi mingyi ji 翻譯名義集 (Jpn. Hon'yaku myōgishū) [Collection of Translated Terms], 1143. 7 vols. in 1 case. 1628 Japanese wood-block print. [Non-Circ Request at UCLA YRL Circulation Desk: BQ 130 F39] This work is a Sanskrit-Chinese dictionary and a study of the various Chinese translations in use for Sanskrit Buddhist terms. This 1628 edition is the oldest extant version of this text-truly a rare treasure! [NOTE: When considering traditional Chinese glossaries of transliteratied terms, do not forget the various yinyi (Jpn. ongi 音義, "transcription dictionaries ") included in scripture collections.]

Heinemann, Robert. Chinese-Sanskrit Sanskrit-Chinese Dictionary of Words and Phrases as Used in Buddhist Dhāraṇī [Japanese title: Kanbon bonkan darani yōgoku jiten 漢梵梵漢 ダラニ用語句辞典. Tokyo: Meicho Fukyūsha, 1985.

Maruyama Tatsuon 圓山達音, ed. Sanskrit-Japanese dictionary of dharanis. [Japanese title: Darani jiten 陀羅尼辞典]. Reprinted Tokyo: Kokusho Kankōkai, 1974. Reproduced by Lokesh Chandra. Śata-piṭaka Series, Indo-Asian literatures, vol. 275. New Delhi: International Academy of Indian Culture, 1981. [NRLF: BQ 133 M37 1981]

Note: Use with Sakata Kōzen 坂田光全, "Kan-man-mō-zō shitai gappeki daizō zenju sakuin " 漢満蒙蔵四体合璧大蔵全呪索引. Mikkyō kenkyū 密教研究 62 (1937): 81–107.

Ogiwara Unrai 荻原雲來 [A.k.a., Wogihara Unrai], ed. Bon-Wa daijiten 梵和大辭典 [originally subtitled: The Sanskrit-Chinese Dictionary of Buddhist Technical Terms based on the Mahāvyutpatti]. Tokyo, 1915. 20 fascicles. Rpt. Tokyo: Sankibō, 1959. [NOT at UCLA] Revised ed. Tokyo: Suzuki Gakujutsu Zaidan, 1934–1974. [PK 951 K33 1964 (E.A. Lib.)] The Mahāvyutpatti was compiled as a Sanskrit-Tibetan translation guide in 8th-9th century Tibet. During the Mongol rule Chinese equivalencies were added, and during the Ming dynasty Mongolian was added. Ogiwara's version marks errors with "!" and places corrections in brackets, as well as adding many new entries. Arranged in Sanskrit alphabetical order. Includes Chinese equivalencies and/or Japanese definitions, and Sanskrit textual references.

Sasaki Ryōzaburō, ed. (Bon-Zō Kan-Wa shiyaku taikō) Honyaku myōgishū 梵藏漢和四譯對校翻譯名義集 [(Sanskrit, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese Four Language Edition of) The Mahāvyutpatti]. 2 vols. Kyoto, 1916. [NOT at UCLA.] The Chinese translations in this version are even better than Ogiwara's 1915 edition, but the index is not as complete.

Source: Dr.Robert Buswell. Revised and Expanded by William Bodiford

Subject Guide

Hong Cheng's picture
Hong Cheng
Subjects:Asia