Skip to main content

Tibetan Studies

General Bibliographies

For an online bibliography, see the Karma dgon Tibetan Bibliography Database, with about 40,000 records: http://www.bibliographietibet.org/

Another extensive online bibliography is offered by the Tibet and Himalaya Digital Library at http://www.thdl.org/reference/bibliography.html.

Chibetto no rekishi shūkyō gengo minzoku ni kansuru kihonteki shiryō no sōgōteki kenkyū: Tōyō Bunko shozō Chibettogo kanpon mokuroku チベットの歴史・宗教・言語・民俗に関する基本的資料の総合的研究 : 東洋文庫所蔵チベット語刊本目錄 / 研究代表者福田洋一. Kenkyū daihyōsha Fukuda Yōichi. [Tokyo : Tōyō Bunko], Heisei 3 [1991].

Sadakane Ayako. (1982 & 1997) Chibetto kenkyû bunken mokuroku A bibliography of Tibetan studies 1877-1977, 1978-1995, 2 vols., Tôkyô: Kôka Shoten. There is an important difference between two volumes. The first volume (DS786 .S229 1982) only deals with Japanese and Chinese materials. On the other hand, the second one (DS786 .S23 1997) includes Western materials together with Japanese/Chinese ones. Chibetto kenkyu bunken mokuroku 1996- is available as a database at the Japanese Association for Tibetan Studies' website: http://web.otani.ac.jp/cri/twrp/jatsdb/koushin.php.

Catalogue of Chinese Publications in Tibetan Studies v. 1: 1949-1990, v. 2: 1991-1995, v. 3: 1996-2000 (listings in English, Tibetan and Chinese). (EAL Z3107.T5 C48 1997)

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) (UNI required) via CLIO or E-Resources>Databases. 640,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs since 1992 excluded.

China's Tibetology Research Center (Zhongguo zangxue yanjiu zhongxin) hosts a bibliography at http://www.tibetology.ac.cn/ This research institute of Tibetan studies is sponsored by Chinese government. The website introduces the institute, organization, academic staff, research projects and publications. Includes news related to area development, photos research resources, scholars and their works, bibliographies, and important topics. Introduces Tibetan religion and culture, and its social and economic development. Includes lists of research institutions and links to other sites of Tibetan studies. Their reprinting of archival material is one of the most useful aspects of their work. Search "Publisher" field for "Kruṅ-go'i Bod kyi śes rig par khang" or "Zhongguo zang xue chu ban she" in WorldCat for hundreds of results.

Attar, Chand. Tibet, Past and Present: A Select Bibliography with Chronology of Historical Events, 1660-1981. New Delhi, 1981. This bibliography, focused mostly on political history, is especially useful for locating references to otherwise difficult to find journal articles.

Subject Guide

Hong Cheng's picture
Hong Cheng
Subjects:Asia