Skip to main content

Medicine

Mobile App Versions of Library Resources

UCLA Library licenses the subscription-based mobile apps below:

Name Description Special Instructions to Access Library Subscriptions

AccessMedicine App

 

The AccessMedicine app delivers support and point of care solutions for clinical practice through these mobile features:

Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice – perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.

Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions, plus a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases.

Differential Diagnosis Tool provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a McGraw-Hill Medical tool that efficiently allows you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.

Diagnostic Tests, from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.

The AccessMedicine App is available to iOS users in App Store and to Android users in Google Play.


To activate and for continued access to the app, you must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through UCLA, either on-site or through a VPN. Sign up for a My Access account by logging into AccessMedicine through the UCLA Biomedical Library homepage and clicking on "UCLA Library" in the upper right hand corner. Visit the AccessMedicine homepage for more information. 

If you need any further assistance please feel free to contact the Biomedical Library

CINAHL

Expanded online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.  Includes over 4,175 professional nursing journals, health care books and chapters, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, legal cases, clinical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Coverage: 1937–present. [edited by Adele, 10/26/2010]

iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad Application

Get the App
The iOS version of the EBSCOhost App is available as a free download from iTunes at the following link:

EBSCOhost App on iTunes

Authenticate the App
After installing the app on your device, it must be authenticated from the EBSCOhost or EBSCO Discovery Service interface.

To authenticate the EBSCOhost app:

  1. Log into EBSCOhost.
  2. Click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page and enter an email address which you can access from your device. An email with an authentication key is sent to you.
  3. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

Help for the iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad App
Click the following link to read about how to use the app. http://support.ebsco.com/downloads/iphone_help/ehostapp/toc.html
 
Android Application

Get the App
The Android version of the EBSCOhost app is available as a free download from Google Play at the folllowing link:

EBSCOhost App on Google Play

Authenticate the App
After installing the app on your device, it must be authenticated from the EBSCOhost or EBSCO Discovery Service interface.

To authenticate the EBSCOhost app:
 

  1. Log into EBSCOhost.
  2. Click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page and enter an email address which you can access from your device. An email with an authentication key is sent to you.
  3. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

Help for the Android App
Click the following link to read about how to use the app. http://support.ebsco.com/downloads/android_help/ehostapp/toc.html

Note: The iPhone and Android applications currently do no support the eBooks and Audiobooks on EBSCOhost databases.

DynaMed Mobile
DynaMed is a point-of-care clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,200 topics. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Each publication is thoroughly reviewed, and each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate representing a synthesis of the best available evidence. A mobile application is available for iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry, Microsoft Mobile, and Palm. [edited by BR 2/23/16]

To Install Dynamed on your iPhone/iPod touch:

Please Note: The following instructions are for users accessing the library website while at a UCLA facility or through an off-campus VPN or proxy set up. Please view our VPN guide for more information.  

1. Please visit the Biomedical Library homepage and click on "Key Resources".

2. Under the "Patient Care Tools" column, please click on Dynamed. 

3. Once on the Dynamed website, please click on the "Mobile" tab located on the blue ribbon at the top of the webpage. 

4. You will be prompted to input an email address. You will receive an email message with an authenticated link to download the mobile app.  

DynaMed App FAQ

DynaMed App Installation and Authentication Guide

Note: Authentication is valid for 12 months. When your authentication expires, you can send yourself another link within the Dynamed interface valid for an additional 12 months. 

Micromedex® Drug Information
Micromedex
Search for information about drugs and substances. MICROMEDEX includes the full-text of the PDR, USP-DI, Martindale’s, and many others. It also includes information about alternative therapies, patient handouts, and dosing tools. The database is updated quarterly, making it an ideal resource for information about new drugs. [edited by Adele, 10/26/2010]

 The iPad and iPhone app are both available without charge from the iTunes store. It contains summary information.
The Drug Interaction App is a paid App however it can be obtained without charge with the password if your facility is a customer of Micromedex.

Android apps are available via Google Play.

If you will follow the prompts from the Micromedex 2.0 after you click on the mobileMicromedex tab at the top, you will find full instructions on how to download the apps.

Science Direct

Need full-text but not at your desk? The SciVerse ScienceDirect iPhone app doesn't restrict your brainwaves to the workplace; now you can find and read your subscribed Elsevier article or book chapter while you're at a conference, travelling to and from work, or enjoying some rare downtime. [edited by Elsevier B.V., 5/3/2011]

Since University of California - Los Angeles has access on the ScienceDirect website, you will be able to use the ScienceDirect Mobile application available through the iPad and Android application store. The publisher of the application is Elsevier. Here are the links to the application on the respective platforms:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sciverse-sciencedirect-free/id430923193?mt=8

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.service2media.sciencedirect

Upon downloading and starting the application, you will need to enter a username, password, and email address. This should be a username that was created previously on the ScienceDirect website. You will need to use your institutional email address on that username. Once authenticated into the application, you will have access to all the subscribed content on ScienceDirect through the University of California - Los Angeles.

Stat!Ref

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref® online is a cross-searchable, healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools in one site. [edited by Monica, 7/31/12] To access the mobile app you first need to create a STAT!Ref preferences account. This is a one-time process. If you have not yet created a preferences account, please follow the below directions:
 
TO CREATE A PREFERENCES ACCOUNT & SET IT UP FOR MOBILE APP ACCESS:

•    When within the IP range at your institution, please log-into STAT!Ref as you normally would. Once logged into the subscription, please click "Your Preferences" at the top right of the screen. Please select "no I do not have a preferences account" and enter in your email address, then a password you would like to use.
•    Once you have set-up the account, please go back to the Your Preferences Link, and visit the "Temporary Login Account" tab. Press ACTIVATE. The temp account lasts for 90 days and allows you to access STAT!Ref from anywhere using your Temp account un/pw. In 90 days you just need to access your account again while IP Authenticated and click the button to reactivate for another 90 days.
 
ONCE YOUR PREFERENCES ACCOUNT IS CREATED & ACTIVATED:

•    Simply download the STATRef mobile app, and to log-in, enter the email you selected, with the password you selected during the preferences account set-up.
•    Here is a link on our website with additional download instructions for the app: http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html
 
UpToDate

UpToDate App
Offers instant access to the most current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment, written by expert faculty from the world's leading medical schools and academic medical centers. UpToDate covers more than 9,500 topics in 19 medical specialties and includes graded treatment recommendations, graphics, links to MEDLINE abstracts, patient handouts, medical calculators, and a drug database.  [edited by Lisa, 7/27/2012]

Connect via site, not app.

However, if you'd still like an individual subscription to the app, despite free access to the mobile site, due to the Library's subscriptions, the cost of a new individual subscription is US $499 + processing fee (US $15). Sales/Vat tax will also be charged in US states/Countries that charge tax.
*Please note that rates are subject to change without notice.
The rate above entitles you to a one year subscription with online access.

For your convenience, there are three ways to order UpToDate:

  1. Order online at www.uptodate.com/subscribe.
  2. Print a populated order form while in our online store (after entering in your information) or request an order form to be emailed to you from our Customer Service by replying to this message.
  3. Call our Customer Service at 800-998-6374 or +1-781-392-2000.


The following apps are free to the general audience:

Journal Apps

You may have seen the New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and other journal apps on the market. Typically, you have to pay for individual subscriptions to access these.

Good news! You can access content for free from these journals thanks to UCLA Library subscriptions. We've already paid for an institutional subscription, so visit the UCLA Library mobile site and search for online resources.

Other Government Mobile Apps

Other Free Apps