Librarian
Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access these sites from off-campus using either the UCLA VPN Client or Bruin Online Proxy Server. If you need help setting up your computer, contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu . They answer the phone 24/7 and are very helpful.
[NOTE: All campus wireless networks (eduroam, UCLA_WIFI, or UCLA_WEB) provide access to online subscription content. If you are using a Mac, you may need to use Chrome or Firefox, not Safari, to read some of the pdf material.]
To Google or Not to Google?
The Internet has brought a vast array of information to your desktop. The challenge for students is to identify the relevant sources, get to them easily, and critically evaluate their content. Some of the websites listed on the other tabs in this guide are licensed for UC users only, others are open to all. Those that are licensed will not turn up in a Google search.
Some of the resources listed on the Online Resources page will be useful for the Film Review assignment if you are in Prof. Miller's sections. Others can be used for the Persuasive Speech assignment.
This guide will lead you to resources that can help you find material for your assignments. Remember that you can always ask a reference librarian for help.
Quick Links
- Library HoursUCLA Library hours may change so be sure to check the website. The Page and Pick Up Service is now offered for regular circulating books only in the Arts Library that are stored in YRL.
- Research HelpSee various links to people and resources you can go to for help with your research.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- SRLF (Southern Regional Library Facility)Many library materials, archives, and manuscript collections are housed in the SRLF, a climate-controlled environment designed to preserve them. Materials can be retrieved for use in campus libraries or to be checked out.
- UCLA Schedule of ClassesUCLA Schedule of Classes is archived online from 1997.
- CLICC (Campus Library Instructional Computing Commons)CLICC offers technology and support for UCLA students, faculty, and staff--such as laptop/iPad lending, study room and library classroom reservations, computer stations, and a wide variety of instructional software.
Communication Sources
- Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 4,500 electronic files of relevance to communication professionals and students: communication bibliographies, syllabi, journal articles, research tools, descriptions of graduate programs, archives of CIOS/Comserve hotline dialogue, Master Scholars collection. All resources are fully indexed. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
Major Communication Journals
These major journals are not included in CIOS. The catalog will link to an online version if we have access to it. Otherwise you can look at the print issues in the library.
- Quarterly Journal of SpeechOnly a few years of this are online. If the article you want is not online, you need to look at the print copy and if we do not have that, you can request the article on interlibrary loan.