At UCLA there are three different library catalogs to search for books.
The UCLA Library Catalog lists everything owned or licensed by the UCLA Library and other campus collections, including the Ralph J. Bunche Library and Media Center. That includes books, journals, magazines, DVDs and videos, microfilm, and online databases. As our in-house system it also contains up-to-the-minute status information on what's checked out and allows you to do things like renew your books, recall books checked out to other people or request items stored in the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF).
On the Basic Search page, enter your search terms (e.g., african americans) and select Subject List (start of). You will see a NOTE that explains how the term is used:
- Search also subdivision African Americans under individual wars, e.g. World War, 1939-1945--African Americans; and headings beginning with african american or african americans.
- Note: Here are entered works on citizens of the United States of black African descent. Works on Blacks who temporarily reside in the United States, such as aliens, students from abroad, etc., are entered under Blacks--United States. Works on blacks outside the United States are entered under Blacks--[place].
- The Catalog lists journals owned by UCLA, but not the individual articles inside them. To identify specific articles, use an Article Database.
- Once you have found a book you want to get, note the location, call number and status (whether the book is checked out):
- You can always ask for help!
WorldCat has catalog records from libraries worldwide. Not every library everywhere, but from any libraries that have given their records to OCLC. However, it lacks local information like where in the library something is. You can request materials from anywhere in the world using the Interlibrary Loan service—you don't even have to specify where it's coming from—but it may take weeks or months to get here, and extremely rare materials may not be available for loan.
- Resources that are fully cataloged in the UC campus (main) catalogs, including books, journals, media, government publications, maps, electronic databases, and more.
- Resources in libraries around the world, listed from a service called WorldCat.org, including many California research libraries: California State Library, Hastings College of the Law, the California Academy of Sciences, the California Historical Society, the Center for Research Libraries, the Graduate Theological Union, the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and some campus affiliated libraries.
- A search in the Melvyl Catalog includes many journal article databases with links to articles available in full-text or print from the UC Libraries. To limit your search to books only, on the Advanced Search screen, click the Add/Remove databases>> button and CLEAR ALL; then check the box next to WorldCat and Save Selections.