French Studies

Online Dictionary

Primary Sources at Special Collections of UCLA

Primary Sources on CD-ROM

Primary Sources - Definition

Primary sources are documents or objects created at the time of the study, for instance, diaries, contemporary newspapers, journals, literary works. Statistics, surveys, and other data are also primary sources. Physical objects such as artifacts produced at the studied time period can also be used as primary source materials.

Tips: Find names of authors who lived in the time period under study, and search for works from these authors in the Library Catalog.

Try to find old imprints, rare books, archival materials if appropriate. Good sources are the Online Archive of California leading to resources in UCLA's Special Collections and the Europeana Library leading to digitized resources all over Europe.

Primary Sources Online

Primary Sources on Microform

Some works can only be found on microfilm or in special collections and archives. The following list is a brief selection of the large microfilm set titles UCLA owns in the library or as a member of a consortium - in the Center for Research Libraries. Each set includes a large number of works.

French Studies


     Image credit: UCLA Library

Librarian

West European Studies Interim Librarian

Finding Books and Journals in Catalogs

E-Books on Renaissance Studies

The following series are available in electronic format through Classiques Garnier Numerique. Click on Collections Renaissance and select the individual title from the list.

Translations

The UNESCO maintains a database of translations. It is searchable by author, title, language, translator, publisher, and date.

Index Translationum