Online Tools with Interview Content
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives. - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Movie interviews: NPRAudio interviews with filmmakers and actors recorded by NPR.
- Listen NotesPodcast search engine.
- Robert Flaherty Film Seminar ArchiveDigitized recordings from the Flaherty Seminar, which began in 1955 and features discussions with Satyajit Ray, Agnès Varda, Mira Nair, John Cassavetes, and Yasujiro Ozu.
Finding Interviews in Books
If a book of interviews has been published featuring a specific director, you can search UC Library Search with the director's name and the keyword "interviews," or search for books with compiled interviews of many directors. Examples:
- Motion picture producers and directors--Interviews
- Sembène, Ousmane, 1923-2007--Interviews