Librarian for Middle Eastern, Islamic, South Asian, and Jewish Studies
Romanization Tables
Click the links below to see Library of Congress Romanization tables, which you will need in order to search library catalogs:
Videos
The UCLA Library holds a range of video recordings in Arabic. These include feature films, television series, documentaries, and news programs. Some videos are available for check out at various campus libraries, while others are available for viewing through the Instructional Media Collections and Services located in Powell Library. Please check the UCLA Library catalog for holdings.
A selection of recent videos is listed below.
Dictionaries
Arabic-English dictionaries are available in the YRL Reference Reading Room, the YRL Stacks and the College library in the PJ6600–6700 call number range.
Specialized dictionaries, e.g., Arabic-English Dictionary of Qur'anic usage, will be found in other call number ranges.
Please check the UCLA Library catalog or visit your nearest library for complete holdings.
Grammars
The UCLA Library has hundreds of titles on the grammar of the Arabic language, including many on regional dialects. These titles can be found in the PJ 6307 call number range. Please check the UCLA Library catalog or visit your nearest library for complete holdings.
A selection of introductory textbooks is provided below.
Arabic Language Online Resources
- Arabic Literature in the Post-Classical PeriodPart of Cambridge Histories Online
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches in order to be as objective and versatile as possible.
Newspapers
The UCLA Library holds more than 100 Arabic-language newspapers from around the world. Online access is available for a number of papers. Please check the UCLA Library catalog for complete holdings.
Many newspaper articles can also be accessed through the databases Ethnic NewsWatch, LexisNexis Academic, Multi Data Online and NewsBank.
A selection of newspapers with online access is listed below.
Manuscript Collections
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new window Finding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
- Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts Princeton University Library holds approximately 9,500 Islamic manuscripts in Arabic, Persian, Ottoman Turkish and other languages of the Muslim world written in Arabic script. The manuscripts date from the 9th to the 19th centuries. 200 of these manuscripts are being digitized for the digital library.
- University of Michigan Library Islamic Manuscripts Collection The collection has approximately 1,300 manuscripts in Near Eastern languages, Arabic, Persian and Turkish.