Skip to main content

Film and Television

Other Los Angeles Collections

Los Angeles Repositories of Film and Television Special Collections

The following is a descriptive list of repositories (primarily) in the Los Angeles area that hold manuscript and other print archival collections related to the study of film and television. For most of the repositories listed, materials can be viewed on-site only and may have some restrictions on photocopying and other forms of duplication.

For film and television scripts information, please see the Scripts page. For moving image collections and archives, please see the Film and Video Collections page.

If you are interested in accessing materials from different archives, please contact them directly for more information.

UCLA Special Collections

Below are links to primary locations for print special collections of relevance to the study of film and television at UCLA. Select online finding aids are also available via the Online Archive of California.

Studio Archives

The following is a working list of locations with significant print archival holdings documenting specific studios, including those collections not held in publicly accessible institutions. However, the papers of individuals (actors, directors, producers, screenwriters, costumers, etc.) connected with specific studios may also be available in other locations throughout the country, and are not listed here. Suggestions, revisions, and information leads for this list are encouraged!

ABC: UCLA holds a collection of ABC Television Network Scripts and Production Material for Television, 1954-1974. Collection also includes selected posters, stills, and press kits for individual shows. 

CBS: UCLA holds music-related manuscripts, books, printed music, sound recordings and business papers relating to CBS productions from 1955-1983. Finding aid is available.

Disney:  Disney maintains an extensive in-house archive, but it is not open to the public. UCLA owns some publicity ephemera from 1938-1980s.

Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM): There is no fully centralized or comprehensive archive available for MGM, and unfortunately some of the studio's archival records were discarded. For instance, all MGM musical material, including orchestra arrangements and parts, were discarded in the late 1960s. However, some content is available at USC, the Margaret Herrick Library (art, legal, production, and wardrobe departments, as well as scripts), and UCLA Library Special Collections (architectural set plans, scripts, in-house materials related to productions and compiled by the M-G-M Research Department for behind the scenes research).

NBC: Records for 1921-1976 from the National Broadcasting Company are available at the Wisconsin Historical Society. UCLA owns selected scripts, stills, posters, and press kits for individual shows. Also remember to check institutions for papers deposited by individual artists and producers.

Paramount: The most extensive institutional holdings from Paramount are housed in multiple archives by the studio, including all of the music archives. The Margaret Herrick Library includes some production records, scripts, press sheets, and contract summaries. UCLA holds select stills (1920s-1940s) and television production files (1950s-1970s). Ohio State holds some materials as part of the Paramount International Films collection, 1927-1968.

Republic Pictures: Some archival materials available at USC

RKO: The RKO studio collection (1922-1956) is housed at UCLA Library Special Collections, including scores, daily production reports, story submission cards, payroll cards, scripts, and story synopses. Some specific collection information is available via a finding aid.

Sony: Sony also owns Columbia and Tri-star. The studio has an in-house archive that is not open to the public. UCLA houses some Columbia scripts and stills, and stills from Tri-star.

Twentieth Century Fox: Most archival holdings are housed by the studio and are not open to the public. Some Fox production material (including scripts) is available at  USC, and UCLA holds some scripts.

United Artists: Some UA archival records are located at the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research, including corporate ledgers.

Universal: The most extensive archives are located at the studio and in other remote locations, but are not open to the public. Some material is available at USC, and the Margaret Herrick Library houses a collection of trailer scripts.

Warner Bros.: Many Warner Bros. archives are held at USC, covering studio inception to 1968. Also includes the William Schaefer ledger, which covers film grosses from 1921-1967. Some materials (mostly scripts) are held at the University of Wisconsin, and UCLA Library Special Collections houses some Warner Bros. silent film music scores.

General Catalogs and Finding Aids

Online Special Collections