Basics
THIS PAGE IS UNDER DEVELOPMENT
Depending on the nature of your work, you might want to consider visting the UCLA Law Library for assistance with all your legal and regulatory research needs. The Law Librarians have the specialized skills to help you understand and search the US Codes, California Codes, Municipal Codes, CFR, CCR, etc. effectively.
The resources on this page will get to the key resources to get you started. You are welcome to contact me for assistance first.
Statutes and Codes
Statutes are a chronological list of acts that have passed. For further details, review these step-by-step guides on How to Find Federal Statutes and How to Find California Statutes.
- US Statutes at Large
- California Statutes at Large
Codes are laws organized by subject/topic.
- US Code
- US Code Annotated
- California Code
- Los Angeles Municipal Code
Regulations
Code of Federal Regulations
Federal Register
Califirnia Code of Regulations
California Regulatory Notice Register
Legal Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- CQ Supreme Court Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Rulemaking Agencies
The federal agencies, cabinet and non-cabinet level, listed on NARA's website have rulemaking authority.
"Federal regulation is one of the basic tools of government used to implement public policy. Agencies publish thousands of regulations each year to achieve goals such as ensuring that workplaces, air travel, and food are safe; that the nation's air, water, and land are not polluted; and that the appropriate amount of taxes are collected. Because regulations affect so many aspects of citizens' lives, it is crucial that rulemaking procedures and practices be effective and transparent." from GAO report summary listed below.