Skip to main content

Bruin Success with Less Stress

Citations for Intellectual Property

Blackman, Peter W. "UCLA Policy 110: Use of the University's Names, Seals, and Trademarks." 1 July 1998. University of California, Los Angeles. 15 Aug. 2003 <http://www.adminvc.ucla.edu/appm/public/app_0110_0.html>.

"E-I-E-I-(Annoyed Grunt)." The Simpsons. Writ. Ian Maxtone-Graham. Dir. Bob Anderson. FOX Entertainment Group. FOX, Los Angeles. 7 Nov. 1999.

"FAQ." Weird Al Yankovic: The Official Web Site. 9 Aug. 2003 <http://www.weirdal.com/faq.htm>.

"Frequently Asked Questions About Trademarks." 21 May 2003. United States Patent and Trademark Office. United States Department of Commerce. 8 Aug. 2003 <http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/tac/tmfaq.htm#DefineTrademark>.

"General Information Concerning Patents." 1 May 2003. United States Patent and Trademark Office. United States Department of Commerce. 8 Aug. 2003 <http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/doc/general/index.html#patent>.

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed. New York: 2003.

Jenkins, Julianna. "Re: For Your Reading Pleasure." E-mail to Sharon Farb. 15 July 2003.

Thompson, Nicholas. "Netflix's Patent May Reshape DVD-Rental Market." New York Times 26 June 2003, late ed.: C4.

University of California Policy on Copyright Ownership. 19 Aug. 1992. University of California Office of the President. 7 Aug. 2003 <http://www.ucop.edu/ucophome/coordrev/policy/8-19-92att.html>.

VanCleave, Ted. "Dog Watch." Totally Absurd Inventions. 7 Aug. 2003 <http://www.totallyabsurd.com/absurd.htm>.

According to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, you do not need to include complete citations in your works cited for references to the United States Constitution or the United States Code: "No entry in the works-cited list is needed for familiar historical documents and the United States Code (USC), since the references to them can be documented with brief parenthetical citations in the text" (Gibaldi 206).

Citations for Intellectual Property

Blackman, Peter W. "UCLA Policy 110: Use of the University's Names, Seals, and Trademarks." University of California, Los Angeles, 1 July 1998, www.adminvc.ucla.edu/appm/public/app_0110_0.html.

"E-I-E-I-(Annoyed Grunt)." The Simpsons, written by Ian Maxtone-Graham, direccted by Bob Anderson, FOX Entertainment Group. FOX, 7 Nov. 1999.

"FAQ." Weird Al Yankovic: The Official Web Site, 9 Aug. 2003, www.weirdal.com/faq.htm.

"Frequently Asked Questions About Trademarks." United States Patent and Trademark Office, United States Department of Commerce, 21 May 2003, www.uspto.gov/web/offices/tac/tmfaq.htm#DefineTrademark.

"General Information Concerning Patents." United States Patent and Trademark Office, United States Department of Commerce, 1 May 2003, www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/doc/general/index.html#patent.

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed., 2003.

Jenkins, Julianna. "Re: For Your Reading Pleasure." E-mail to Sharon Farb, 15 July 2003.

Thompson, Nicholas. "Netflix's Patent May Reshape DVD-Rental Market." New York Times, late ed., 26 June 2003, p. C4.

University of California Policy on Copyright Ownership. University of California Office of the President, 19 Aug. 1992, www.ucop.edu/ucophome/coordrev/policy/8-19-92att.html.

VanCleave, Ted. "Dog Watch." Totally Absurd Inventions, www.totallyabsurd.com/absurd.htm.

According to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, you do not need to include complete citations in your works cited for references to the United States Constitution or the United States Code: "No entry in the works-cited list is needed for familiar historical documents and the United States Code (USC), since the references to them can be documented with brief parenthetical citations in the text" (Gibaldi 206).

Citations for Need a File, Share a File

"In-Room Computing Acceptable Use Policy." 2008. UCLA Policies and Delegations: Information Technology. 2008. Web. 7 September 2011 <http://map.ais.ucla.edu/go/1001484>.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 28 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 29 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 30 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 6 June 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 2 July 2003.

Carlson, Scott. "A President Tries to Settle the Controversy Over File Sharing." Chronicle of Higher Education 23 May 2003: A27-A29.

"Copyright Casebook: Dr. Dre and LucasFilm." 2002. Copyright Website. 10 Aug. 2003 <http://www.benedict.com/audio/dre/dre.aspx>.

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed. New York: 2003. 

Harmon, Amy. "Suit Settled for Students Downloading Music Online." New York Times 2 May 2003, late ed.; A22+.

Healy, Jon and P.J. Huffstuffer. "4 Pay Steep Price for Free Music: Students Who Ran File Sharing Systems Will Each Give the Recording Industry Up to $17,500." Los Angeles Times 2 May 2003, home ed.: A1+.

Hume, Wyatt R. "UCLA Policy 464: Online Copyright Infringement Liability Limitation." 1 Aug. 2000. UCLA Administrative Information Services. 5 May 2003 <http://www.adminpolicies.ucla.edu/app/Default.aspx?&id=464>.

Sabar, Ariel. "Academy Disciplines 85 for Net Abuses." Baltimore Sun 15 Apr. 2003: 1B.

"UC Commitment to Copyright Law." 13 June 2003. UCOP Information Resources and Communications. 8 July 2003 <http://www.ucop.edu/irc/policy/copycommit.html>.

According to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, you do not need to include complete citations in your works cited for references to the United States Constitution or the United States Code: "No entry in the works-cited list is needed for familiar historical documents and the United States Code (USC), since the references to them can be documented with brief parenthetical citations in the text" (Gibaldi 206).

Citations for Need a File, Share a File

"In-Room Computing Acceptable Use Policy." UCLA Policies and Delegations: Information Technology, 2008, map.ais.ucla.edu/go/1001484.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 28 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 29 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 30 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 6 June 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 2 July 2003.

Carlson, Scott. "A President Tries to Settle the Controversy Over File Sharing." Chronicle of Higher Education, 23 May 2003, pp. A27-A29.

"Copyright Casebook: Dr. Dre and LucasFilm." Copyright Website, 2002, www.benedict.com/audio/dre/dre.aspx.

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed., 2003. 

Harmon, Amy. "Suit Settled for Students Downloading Music Online." New York Times, late ed, 2 May 2003, p. A22+.

Healy, Jon and P.J. Huffstuffer. "4 Pay Steep Price for Free Music: Students Who Ran File Sharing Systems Will Each Give the Recording Industry Up to $17,500." Los Angeles Times, home ed., 2 May 2003, p. A1+.

Hume, Wyatt R. "UCLA Policy 464: Online Copyright Infringement Liability Limitation." UCLA Administrative Information Services, 1 Aug. 2000, www.adminpolicies.ucla.edu/app/Default.aspx?&id=464.

Sabar, Ariel. "Academy Disciplines 85 for Net Abuses." Baltimore Sun, 15 Apr. 2003, p. 1B.

"UC Commitment to Copyright Law." UCOP Information Resources and Communications, 13 June 2003, www.ucop.edu/irc/policy/copycommit.html.

According to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, you do not need to include complete citations in your works cited for references to the United States Constitution or the United States Code: "No entry in the works-cited list is needed for familiar historical documents and the United States Code (USC), since the references to them can be documented with brief parenthetical citations in the text" (Gibaldi 206).

Citations for Citing & Documenting Sources

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 30 May 2003.

Anonymous. "Re: Your Student's Plagiarism Case & College Library Tutorial." 5 Aug. 2003.

DeCandido, Graceanne A. "Bibliographic Good vs. Evil in Buffy the Vampire Slayer." American Libraries Sept. 1999: 44-47. Print.

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed. New York: 2003.

Harris, Leigh. Personal Interview. 30 July 2003.

Leerhsen, Charles, et al. "A Tale of Arsenic and Old Zach: Was He Murdered in the White House? Or, Did Old Rough and Ready Die of One Cherry Too Many?" Newsweek 1 July 1991. 64-66.

Trupe, A. L. "Plagiarism in the News." Bridgewater College Online Writing Lab. Mar. 2002. Bridgewater College. 9 Aug. 2003 <http://www.bridgewater.edu/WritingCenter/Workshops/PlagiarismCases.htm>.

UCLA Office of the Dean of Students. "Student Guide to Academic Integrity." Sept. 2002. U of California, Los Angeles. 9 Aug. 2003 <http://www.studentgroups.ucla.edu/dos/assets/documents/StudentGuide.pdf>.

Citations for Citing & Documenting Sources

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 30 May 2003.

Anonymous. "Re: Your Student's Plagiarism Case & College Library Tutorial." 5 Aug. 2003.

DeCandido, Graceanne A. "Bibliographic Good vs. Evil in Buffy the Vampire Slayer." American Libraries, Sept. 1999, pp. 44-47.

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed., 2003.

Harris, Leigh. Personal Interview. 30 July 2003.

Leerhsen, Charles, et al. "A Tale of Arsenic and Old Zach: Was He Murdered in the White House? Or, Did Old Rough and Ready Die of One Cherry Too Many?" Newsweek, 1 July 1991, pp. 64-66.

Trupe, A. L. "Plagiarism in the News." Bridgewater College Online Writing Lab, Bridgewater College. 2002, www.bridgewater.edu/WritingCenter/Workshops/PlagiarismCases.htm.

UCLA Office of the Dean of Students. "Student Guide to Academic Integrity." U of California, Los Angeles, Sept. 2002, www.studentgroups.ucla.edu/dos/assets/documents/StudentGuide.pdf.

Citations for Avoiding Disaster

Anonymous. "Re: Your Final." E-mail to Pauline Swartz. 11 July 2003.

Citations for Don't Get Busted

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 28 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 2 June 2003.

Center for Academic Integrity. The Fundamental Values of Academic Integrity. Office of College Relations at Oakton Community College. Des Plaines: IL, 1999.

Kurtz, Howard. "More Reporting by Times Writer Called Suspect." Washington Post 8 May 2003. C01. 13 Aug. 2003 <http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/wp-dyn/A27658-2003May7>.

Office of the Dean of Students. "Student Guide to Academic Integrity." Sept. 2002. University of California, Los Angeles. 13 Aug. 2003 <http://www.studentgroups.ucla.edu/dos/assets/documents/StudentGuide.pdf>.

Citations for Don't Get Busted

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 28 May 2003.

Anonymous. Personal Interview. 2 June 2003.

Center for Academic Integrity. The Fundamental Values of Academic Integrity. Office of College Relations at Oakton Community College, 1999.

Kurtz, Howard. "More Reporting by Times Writer Called Suspect." Washington Post, 8 May 2003, p. C01. www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/wp-dyn/A27658-2003May7.

Office of the Dean of Students. "Student Guide to Academic Integrity." University of California, Los Angeles, Sept. 2002, www.studentgroups.ucla.edu/dos/assets/documents/StudentGuide.pdf.