African Studies

Annual analyses and forecasts of the economic health of the African countries; a subset from SourceOECD

Provides country-specific information on development issues, projects and organizations; includes descriptions and links to online documents, organizational websites, databases, library catalogues, bibliographies, e-mail discussion lists, research project information, map and newspaper collections, and resources off-line.

A vast collection of financial and economic data providing current and historical data series for more than 200 countries. GFD includes very long runs of data--some going as far back as the 1500s--for interest rates, exchange rates, stock market indices, commodity prices, and total returns on stocks, bonds, and bills from every major market in the world. The product contains 8 databases: the Global Financial Database, Long-Term Financial Db, Interest Rate Db, U.S. Daily Stock Market Db, Global Stock Market Db, Total Return Db, Annual Database Collection, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday Data. All data customizably downloads into Excel.

Overviews of the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, transnational issues, and military of countries of the world.

Contains the online versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army. Because the original intent of the Series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser known areas of the world or regions in which US forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 102 countries and regions are covered.

The South Africa Yearbook gives a comprehensive account of the programs and policies of the government as well as the current state of the South African nation.

Southern and Eastern African Trade Information and Negotiations Institute. SEATINI is an African initiative to strengthen Africa's capacity to take a more effective part in the emerging global trading system and to better manage the process of Globalization. We deal specifically with issues and debates around the World Trade Organisation and Africa's relationships to it.