Introduction
- Review the assignment and identify information you need that may need. Note that the many of these information sources are multi-facets and you may go back to the same source for different type of information.
- If you are going to access licensed online sources off-campus, you need to enable your VPN or Proxy Server Setup.
- Note that some sourced listed are available online with an active Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) card. The nearest LAPL is the Westwood Branch, on Glendon, south of Wilshire (directions and hours.) You can also register for e-card and you will be able to have remote access to databases provided by LAPL.
Anytime, Anywhere Access
Technical support is provided by Bruin Online. Contact information and hours of operation is at https://www.it.ucla.edu/bol/contact-bruin-online (scroll to the bottom of the webpage).
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)Includes downloadable clients and instructions for desktops and laptops, plus configuration information to use the built-in VPN software on most mobile devices.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
Keeping Track of Your Project
- ZoteroA free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources, PDFs, images, and audio and video files. See the UCLA Library's Zotero Research Guide or WI+RE's Get Started with Zotero tutorial for additional information.
Company Information
Step 1) Locating TNC
- Uniworld Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search by product or company name in this online directory. You can further limit by where the headquarter and subsidiaries are located.
Step 2) More Info
After you have the name and hopefully ticker symbol, use the following to locate company financials, including executives compensation and annual reports as well as other company related information. For scholarly sources, see the next section of this guide.
- Mergent IntellectRequires LAPL e-card for remote access.
The information is from D&B's Hoover's.
- Orbis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide, with an emphasis on private company information. We do not subscribe to the the Leadership Online module.
Scholarly Sources
class="box-in-box" style="width: 50%;">
Tips
- Use ticker symbol to narrow down your search results. Look for company name or symbol option in the drop down box nex to the search box.
- You may need a combination of search words in order to find the articles relevant to a particular section of your paper. e.g. (production or manufactur*) in the first search box and limit the search to aapl (ticker symbol for Apple Inc) will bring up articles related to Apple and production, manufacture, manufactures, manufacturing, ....
- * is the truncation, asking the computer to search the stem of the search word
- or asks the computer to look for any of these terms
- () asks the computer to perform the search within the bracket and the cross search with search words in the next search box start with and
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes both scholarly and trade articles. Use the filters on the left hand side of the search results screen to narrow down the type of sources you need. Do not limit to full-text. Click on the UC e-links icon instead to access full-text available beyond this database.
- ABI/InformRequires LAPL e-card for remote access.
Includes articles not included in Business Source Complete. Use UC e-Links to find out if we have access to the full-text article you need in print or online format.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use WorldCat to locate books (not articles) about the company. Once you find a book you like to read, click on UC e-links to find out if UCLA has a copy or you can borrow one from another UC campus.
Other Relevant Sources
News
What set the databases listed below apart from free news websites is the depth and searching capabilities. For example, one can ask the computer to search how many words are apart from each other. See the search tips for each of these databases.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Tips: Developing A Search, particularly the section on Search Connectors and Commands. NOTE: Looking for the LA Times? LexisNexis only has the last six months. Use the LA Times via Proquest, in the Major Newspapers section on this page instead. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Others, such as trade magazine articles
- Business Insights: EssentialsRequires LAPL e-card for remote access.
Includes company financials and non scholarly articles about the company