Eve Fielder Collection of Survey Methods

The EFL contains bibliographic citations to a collection of survey methods publications and journals donated to the Data Archive by Eve Fielder, former Director of the ISSR Survey Research Center. The items are available for use in the Archive and can

Social Science Data Archive

Jamie Jamison
Contact:
1120-H Rolfe Hall
(310) 825-0716
Website / Blog Page

Eve Fielder Collection of Survey Methods

The Eve Fielder Library (EFL) contains bibliographic citations to a collection of survey methods publications and journals donated to the Data Archive by Eve Fielder, former Director of the ISSR Survey Research Center.

The items are restricted to use in the Archive. For questions, please contact the Archive.

The collection can be searched by Index or Subject Term, Title, Author or Keyword.

Dr. Fielder moved to Los Angeles in 1966, where she worked as a Project Supervisor for the Behavior Science Corporation and Haug Associates, Inc. In 1972, the late Leo G. Reeder appointed her to supervise survey operations in the UCLA Survey Research Center (SRC). In 1976, SRC was incorporated into the Institute for Social Science Research (ISSR) at the University of California, Los Angeles, and Dr. Fielder was named SRC’s first director. She subsequently served under three ISSR directors, the late Howard Freeman, Marilynn Brewer and David Sears. In 2004, the Survey Research Center moved to the Health Services Research Division in General Internal Medicine, where Dr. Fielder served as Associate Director until she retired in 2006.

In contrast to many of us, Dr. Fielder established her career as an expert in the design, administration and data processing of questionnaires and surveys before she began her formal education. After obtaining a GED and an AA degree at Los Angeles Community College, she received a BA in sociology (Magna Cum Laude) at UCLA in 1983, followed by a Masters of Public Health (MPH) degree (1985) and a Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) degree (1991) from the Department of Community Health Sciences in the UCLA School of Public Health.

In 1977, Dr. Fielder conducted one of the first computer-assisted telephone interviewing (CATI) surveys for UCLA Professor Ralph Turner. Over her career, Eve managed over a thousand academic survey research projects. These studies covered a broad range of topics, and utilized all available survey methodologies. Many of these studies focused on public policies related to social issues and service delivery in the areas of health and welfare. Dr. Fielder was particularly adept at the development and management of surveys that focused on the full range of racial, ethnic, cultural, language and socioeconomic groups represented in the United States.

Eve’s own research focused on issues of relevance to the Hispanic/Latino communities in southern California and across the nation. She co-authored articles with Rosina Becerra, Carol Aneshensel, Allison Diamant, Michael Rodriquez, David Hayes Bautista, and others at UCLA, and was co-author (with Linda Bourque) of How to Conduct Self-Administered and Mail Surveys and How to Conduct Telephone Surveys published by Sage under the direction of Arlene Fink.

Dr. Fielder served as a consultant in survey design for many national groups, including Union Oil, Harbor General Hospital, the National Center for Research in Vocational Education, the American Heart Association, and the Los Angeles Unified School District. She worked with many community organizations (often pro bono) including the Jewish Federation Council of Greater Los Angeles, Tomas Rivera Center, the National Association of Latino Elected Officials (NALEO), and the PLATO Society.

Eve enthusiastically served as a mentor for many younger, non-faculty, professional women at UCLA, who had the same degrees and often more expertise and training than most faculty. In her mentoring and in consultations with less experienced clients, Eve perpetually emphasized the importance of the details of the process for the work being done, and discouraged whining about the lack of collegiality and pettiness; rather, the priority and joy for her was in the project at-hand. It thrilled her when others felt the same passion of discovery and mastery.

Loading